According to Florida state laws, every automobile owner with a vehicle of four or more wheels should maintain Florida Auto Insurance coverage. Furthermore, you need to have proof of the coverage when registering the vehicle. The requirement is $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL), minimum.
Getting your car insured can save you a lot of trouble and money in the event of damages like accident, fire or theft. The state of Florida follows a “no fault” policy—this means that you must buy insurance that covers injury and damages caused in an accident, irrespective of whose fault it is.
Here are five easy steps to buying car insurance:
Step 1: Decide what kind of coverage you want
There are a number of coverage options that are available. Adding to the basic property damage and the personal injury protection coverage, options may also include coverage for liability for injury/death or property damage caused to another person due to your negligence or fault. Uninsured and underinsured motorist protection, comprehensive damage and collision damage are examples of other coverage options.
Step 2: Know Florida’s minimum coverage requirement
Laws and regulations differ from state to state. It is therefore important that you know what the required insurance in your state is.
In Florida, your insurance should at least include bodily injury coverage of $10,000 per person, $20,000 per accident, property damage coverage of $10,000 per accident, uninsured motorist coverage of $10,000 per person and $20,000 per accident, and personal injury protection of $10,000.
Step 3: Know how much coverage you need
Before shopping for car insurance, assess your risks and needs first. Some of the many questions to consider are how often you drive, what kind of areas do you drive in (high or low traffic), who else drives your car, and do you drive for personal or/and business reasons? Asking these questions will help you decide what kind of coverage is best for you.
Step 4: Get quotes
You’ll be required to answer a few questions on an auto insurance form first. Once you’ve filled out the form, the insurance company, or the agent, will run your driving history and then present you with some car insurance quotes. There will be some option for deductibles that you’ll need to pay yourself before your insurance kicks in—higher the deductible, lower the premium.
Step 5: Compare quotes and choose a company
After receiving your quotes, compare them and read up on the respective insurance companies. Once you’re done evaluating, choose the policy that is most feasible for you.
Make sure to ask what documents you need—driver’s license and vehicle registration form, for example.
Lastly, know who your insurance company is and how dependable they are. Choosing a reliable insurance company is extremely important. You don’t want your insurer bailing on you at the eleventh hour.
Getting auto insurance can be complicated. At Manatee Insurance Services, Inc., we take the time to walk you through the process. We realize each situation is unique and offer a wide range of coverage and deductible options to ensure your peace of mind. Serving in Sarasota, Bradenton and Manatee County, we are here for you. Call us at 941-747-SAVE (7283).